ACT Scientific Committee

The ACT Scientific Committee is a statutory expert body appointed by the Minister for the Environment under the Nature Conservation Act 2014. Members of the ACT Scientific Committee have expertise in biodiversity and/or ecology, conservation science and conservation management.

The ACT Scientific Committee replaces the ACT Flora and Fauna Committee.

The Committee has a significant role in advising the Minister for the Environment and the Conservator of Flora and Fauna in relation to nature conservation, including making recommendations to the Minister on the listing of threatened species and providing advice to the Conservator during development of draft action plans.

Listing of Threatened Species, Ecological Communities

Action Plans

Committee Membership

The Scientific Committee was established in 2015 on commencement of the Nature Conservation Act 2014. Committee members are appointed by the Minister on a part-time basis for three-year terms.

Committee members include:

Distinguished Professor Arthur Georges (Chair) is committed to sound fundamental science with a keen interest in its application in natural resource management. He has expertise in conservation biology of native Australian species, the ecology and evolution of Australian reptiles and amphibians.

Honorary Professor Penny Olsen (Deputy Chair) is a research scientist and author. Her expertise is in birds but her experience and interests are broad; ranging from wildlife management to behavioural ecology.

Dr Barry Richardson is a researcher with a broad background including in conservation genetics and conservation policy. He also has experience in environmental research and taxonomic revisions for a number of species including mammals, fish and invertebrates.

Assistant Professor Jasmyn Lynch is a conservation ecologist with expertise in conservation biology, plant ecology, rare and threatened plant species, recovery planning and botanical survey work.

Associate Professor Mark Lintermans has over 30 years’ experience in the ecology and management of freshwater ecosystems. His expertise is ecology and the management of aquatic systems, fish, waterbirds and wetlands.

Dr Kenneth Hodgkinson has good knowledge of relevant local conservation issues in the ACT in grasslands ecology. He is currently researching the restoration of Natural Temperate Grasslands and woodlands of the ACT in projects conducted by the Ginninderra Catchment Group.

Dr Chloe Sato has extensive knowledge in ecology and biodiversity conservation specialising in reptiles and amphibians, vegetation ecology, alpine-subalpine ecosystems, and box-gum grassy woodlands, especially in the ACT context.

Annual reports