Priority Household Target

In general, low-income households spend a greater proportion of their budget on energy than wealthier households. The opportunity for low-income households to invest in energy efficiency measures is also reduced, which increases the impact for these households. They also have less money available to invest in energy efficient appliances.

To ensure that low-income households benefit from the scheme, Tier 1 retailers are obliged to deliver a proportion of their energy saving obligations from eligible activities in priority households. A priority household target of 20% applies in 2017 and 2018, matching the 20% of households in which concession card holders live.

Priority Households

An eligible priority household is defined in the dictionaries of the EEIS Act and instruments, and regulation as a residential premise where at least 1 person who lives there

  • is a recipient of an ACT Government energy concession; or
  • holds a Commonwealth pensioner concession card or health care card; or
  • holds a Department of Veterans Affairs pensioner concession card, TPI gold repatriation health care card, war widows repatriation health care card, or gold repatriation health care card; or
  • holds a Commonwealth seniors health card; or
  • holds a Commonwealth low income health care card; or
  • receives a Commonwealth disability support pension; or
  • is accessing an energy retailer’s hardship program;
  • is referred to a NERL retailer by the following referring organisation*:
    • ACAT (ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal);
    • Care Inc. (Financial Counselling Service and the Consumer Law Centre of the ACT);
    • St Vincent de Paul Society; or
    • The Salvation Army.

* A referral could be an email to ActewAGL Retail at stating:

  • I (name, title and organisation) verify that (person’s name) is experiencing financial hardship and might benefit from exploring opportunities to improve the energy efficiency of their home through the Energy Efficiency Improvement Scheme”.

Any of the following tenanted dwellings are also considered to be an eligible priority household**:

  • a public housing property managed by Housing ACT;
  • a property provided by a registered community housing provider;
  • a property used for providing accommodation or tenancy support by a registered provider of supports under the National Disability Insurance Scheme Act 2013 (Cwlth);
  • a property used for providing residential care under the Aged Care Act 1997 (Cwlth) if both of the following apply:
    • the residential care is provided by an approved provider under that Act;
    • the approved provider is a registered entity under the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission Act 2012 (Cwlth).

Look for the Priority Household Regulation, or the current instrument that sets the Priority Household Target under ‘Disallowable Instruments’ in the ACT legislation register.