About Us

The Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate aims to lead the nation in achieving sustainable outcomes; to be a 'liveable and sustainable city'.

The Directorate is responsible for developing and implementing a wide range of policies and programs across city planning and development, climate change and the environment. There are two divisions within the Directorate dedicated to the delivery of positive environment outcomes for the Territory. These are:

  • the Environment Division is responsible for heritage, conservation research, nature conservation policy, catchment management and water policy and environment protection policy, and includes the ACT Parks and Conservation Service
  • the Climate Change and Sustainability Division is responsible for developing and implementing strategies to mitigate and adapt to climate change, including actions delivering 100% renewable electricity by 2020, net zero emissions by 2045 at the latest, and increasing climate change resilience. The Actsmart program, Energy Efficiency Improvement Scheme and Carbon Neutral Government programs deliver on-the-ground energy savings.

The Directorate's planning responsibilities include the planning and land authority's management of development assessment under the Planning and Development Act 2007. The Authority also administers the Territory Plan which provides the policy framework for the administration of planning in the ACT. The Directorates other planning related functions include building regulation, leasing, land information, planning based research, street and suburb name information, land development projects and planning policy including the Asbestos Response Taskforce and Public Housing Renewal Taskforce.

For more information on the planning arm of our directorate please visit www.planning.act.gov.au.

To find out more about the work of our Directorate to date, view our Annual Report.

Our Vision

The ACT Government’s vision is for Canberra to be recognised throughout the world as:

  • a truly sustainable and creative city;
  • a community that is socially inclusive – acknowledging and supporting those who are vulnerable and in need and enabling all to reach their full potential
  • a centre of economic growth and innovation
  • the proud capital of the nation and home of its pre-eminent cultural institutions
  • a place of great natural beauty.

Our Ministers

Our directorate reports to these ACT Ministers:

  • Andrew Barr MLA - Chief Minister
  • Yvette Berry MLA - Minister for Housing and Suburban Development
  • Mick Gentleman MLA - Minister for the Environment and Heritage; Minister for Planning and Land Management; Minister for Urban Renewal
  • Gordon Ramsay MLA - Minister for Building Quality Improvement
  • Shane Rattenbury MLA - Minister for Climate Change and Sustainability
  • Susan Orr MLA - Minister for Employment and Workplace Safety

Corporate documents