



HERITAC



THE ACT HERITAGE COUNCIL (THE COUNCIL) IS THE ACT GOVERNMENT'S KEY ADVISORY BODY ON HERITAGE ISSUES. THE COUNCIL IS AN INDEPENDENT BODY ESTABLISHED UNDER THE *HERITAGE ACT 2004*. ITS ELEVEN MEMBERS HAVE RELEVANT EXPERTISE AND/OR REPRESENT DIFFERENT SECTORS OF THE ACT COMMUNITY, INCLUDING THE ABORIGINAL COMMUNITY.





THE COUNCIL'S MAIN ROLE IS TO ASSESS NOMINATIONS FOR LISTING ON THE ACT HERITAGE REGISTER AND PROVIDE ADVICE ON THE APPROPRIATE CONSERVATION OF CULTURAL, NATURAL AND ABORIGINAL HERITAGE PLACES AND OBJECTS IN THE ACT.

In summary, the Council:

- 1. identifies, assesses, conserves and promotes places and objects in the ACT with natural and cultural heritage significance
- 2. encourages the nomination of heritage places and objects
- works with the planning authority to conserve natural and cultural heritage places and objects, including Aboriginal places and objects
- 4. advises the Minister responsible for heritage about issues affecting the management and promotion of heritage
- 5. encourages and assists the appropriate management of heritage places and objects encourages public interest in, and understanding of, heritage issues
- 6. encourages and provides public education about heritage places and objects
- 7. assists in the promotion of tourism in relation to heritage places and objects
- 8. keeps records, and encourages others to keep records, in relation to heritage places and objects
- 9. undertakes any other function given to it under the Heritage Act or another Territory law.

The Council participates nationally in the Australia and New Zealand Forum of Heritage Chairs and Officials.

ACT Heritage provides administrative and operational support to the Council and its projects, including administering the annual funding of the ACT Heritage Grants Program.

COUNCIL MEMBERS

Council members are selected for their relevant expertise and/or ability to represent the community or specific sectors of the community. They are drawn from academia, business and the community, including the Aboriginal community.

The Council comprises:

- → three public representatives of the community, the Aboriginal community and the property ownership, management and development sector
- → six experts who represent one or more of the disciplines of Aboriginal culture, Aboriginal history, archaeology, architecture, engineering, history other than Aboriginal history, landscape architecture, nature conservation, object conservation, town planning and urban design
- → two ex officio members, the ACT's Conservator of Flora and Fauna and Chief Planning Executive, who do not vote.

When Council positions become available, they are advertised by ACT Heritage. The Minister appoints the members for terms not more than three years. The Minister also appoints a chairperson and deputy chairperson from the members.

FURTHER INFORMATION

For more information, please contact ACT Heritage on 13 22 81.

Please note the material in this information sheet is provided for general information only, and should not be relied upon for the purpose of a particular matter covered by the <u>Heritage Act 2004</u>.

